World Test Championship (WTC) 2021 To 2023 Latest Points Table, Standings, Format Explained, Rules

World Test Championship (WTC) 2021 To 2023 Latest Points Table, Standings, Format Explained, Rules
– #World #Test #Championship #WTC #Latest #Points #Table #Standings #Format #Explained #RulesWatch full video click here.

As per official schedule for ICC2023 World Test Championship final will be hosted at the Oval featuring top-two teams after league stage, we examine the WTC 2023 format, latest  standings and points table

With spot in 2021-23 World Test Championship final at stake, all teams are trying their best to bag as many points possible. Following their 2-0 series win against hosts Bangladesh, 2019-21 edition finalist India have taken comfortable reign of second-place with nearest rivals South Africa struggling versus leaders Australia.

ICC World Test Championship (WTC) 2021 To 2023 Latest Points Table, Standings, Format

2021-23 ICC World Test Championship Format & New Point Ranking System

Over the course of the tournament’s two-year duration, 69 games spread across 27 series will be contested in the league stage, from which the top two teams will go to the championship game. Six series, three at home and three away, are scheduled for each team. Further, each participant will play between 12-22 matches because each series can vary between two to five Test matches.

Irrespective of number of matches in any series at the 2021-23 edition of ICC World Test Championship, each match will be eligible for 12 points. The value of a defeat is zero points, a tie is equal to six points, a draw is equal to four points, and a win is worth all twelve points. A point would be taken away from a team at the conclusion of a game if it was behind the required over rate by so many overs. The league table ranks teams according to the proportion of total points won over total points contested, much like the previous edition.

READ MORE:   Rainn Wilson changes his name to protest climate change

Latest Standings of 2021–23 ICC World Test Championship

Among nine teams participating in this prestigious competition, reigning champions New Zealand have started poorly and currently sit with just 2 wins from 9 matches. After winning their series against Bangladesh through 2-0 clean-sweep, last edition runner-up India sit second behind leaders Australia with eight wins from fourteen matches and hence, they can be optimistic about their second consecutive final appearance. Elsewhere, Australia have remained firm at the top with 9 wins in 13 games by capturing 76.92% of total points available for them.

RankCountryMatchesWinLossDrawPenaltyPoints% of Total
1 Australia1391312076.92%
2 India1484259958.93%
3 South Africa11657254.55%
4 Sri Lanka105416453.33%
5 England2210841212446.97%
6 West Indies1145225440.91%
7 Pakistan124625638.89%
8 New Zealand92612825.93%
9 Bangladesh (E)1211011611.11%

Also Read: Men’s FIH Pro Hockey League 2022, Schedule, Date, Time, Teams, Format, Fixtures, Points Table, Results, Live Stream

Recommended: The Sports Fan App

Watch full video click here.



Stay Connected with – Follow for more updates, you will be notified soon. Thank You For Visiting

Share Please:

Leave a Comment